WordPress On 1&1 Linux Hostings

February 24, 2008 at 3:10 pm | Posted in Web | 2 Comments

The main reason to install WordPress in your own server because you can modify the source code, use your own domain name, and add Google Adsense. The installation is very simple, just make sure that you have Linux Hosting package, not Microsoft’s. If you do have Microsoft package, you can switch it to Linux Hosting just a single click. Use Switch Package under Administration in 1&1 Control Panel. It will take 24 to 48 hrs… PLEASE BACKUP ALL YOUR FILES FIRST!!

Assuming that you have Linux Hosting package, which includes PHP scripts support and MySQL Database…

  • Create a database by clicking MySQL Administration in 1&1 Control Panel; Click New Database, MySQL will generate a database with a username, password, and host name that CANNOT be modified.

1and1.jpg

  • Download WordPress here and save it to your local hard drive.
  • Rename wp-config-sample.php to wp-config.php; and open this file using your favorite text editor such as notepad in Windows. Now change the DB_NAME, DB_USER, DB_PASSWORD, and DB_HOST to match ones that show on you MySQL database and save it.
  • Use one of FTP clients (FileZilla or WS_FTP), upload all files in wordpress folder that you just downloaded to your server’s root directory or a subdirectory.
  • Now open your browser and type in http://yourpage.com/wp-admin/install.php
  • Follow the screen login… you’re in.
2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Good Article

  2. I think I have to test this soon but may be I will host my blog on Linux on my own pc just to see how it works (installing several packages apache, MySQL, etc.).

    If I feel satisfied, I will host everything on the Internet.

    Thanks for the idea.

    For now I blog on http://BluebeetleOne.blogspot.com
    knowing I will need more control on my code I assume I will switch to WP on a pro host.

    I haven’t chosen the hosting company yet.

    B.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

